It’s Friday night and I just want junk food…

You know that feeling at the end of the week when you’ve had a rubbish Friday and you just fancy a take away or some junk food… well today I got that feeling, really bad!! I really craved ‘junk’ but I really didn’t want to go off plan, so much so that I was almost having an argument with myself. I could have had a blow out and eaten a Chinese or a Curry or had a chippy dinner, but then I’d have been really angry with myself and racked with guilt for who knows how long!! Then I remembered a recipe my Aunty had showed me the other day for syn free burgers, which I have never tried to make, but I figured it was worth a go 🙂 Burger and Chips… win!!

Off I went to Tesco, I bought all my ingredients, I got home and I stared at them all and realised I had no clue what I was doing… so I guessed!! Thankfully my ‘junk food’ dinner turned out really well… so I’m going to share it with you!

And again – If I can do it, anyone can!

My Friday night ‘junk food’

For the Burgers:

How long does it take? 15 – 20 minutes prep, 15 mins cooking time

Is it syn free? Yep 🙂

What do I need?
– Extra Lean Minced Beef (I used 500g, which made 4 burgers)
– 2 Shallots (very finely chopped)
– 2 Garlic Cloves (peeled and crushed) (It was interesting trying to do this for the first time!! ha!)
– 4 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
– Fry Light

What do I do?
Shove all the ingredients in a bowl and using your hands, mix everything together and season. Split the mixture and shape them into flat burgers. Spray them with fry light and either grill or cook in a frying pan… either way cook them for approximately 6-7 minutes on each side.

For the Slimming World Chips:

How long does it take? 15 minutes prep and approximately 30 minutes cooking time

Is it syn free? Yep 🙂

What do I need?
– Potatoes
– Fry Light

What do I do?
Pre heat the oven to 220° C. Peel and cut the potatoes into chip shapes (in real English that means cut them lengthwise into approx ½in/1cm thick rectangular shapes). Bring a large pan of water to the boil, add the chips and cook for about 5 minutes. Leave aside to cool for 10 minutes. When cooled, cover and shake the chips to make them rough around the edges. Spray a baking tray with Fry Light and spread the chips into a single layer, spray them and the bake in the oven for about 30 minutes, until golden brown, turning them occassionally.

Then eat all of this and enjoy!!!

Xx

 

Leave a Reply

October 2012
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
